top of page
Search
  • Kevin O.

God and Politics

Updated: Oct 26, 2018

I used to post a lot about politics on social media. I was young and passionate and felt like I was out to change the world by showing "the other guys" that they were wrong! I felt like my intentions were noble. I wanted to educate and show people something that maybe they did not know. It was, however, unproductive. I found that all I was really accomplishing was making enemies and I was isolating myself from people who believed differently. It got me wondering, "Was I wrong for doing this? Why does this seem to be doing more harm than good?" As I have pondered this, I have made some observations about how someone who is a follower of Christ should approach political conversations as well as how we should approach politics in general.

The first observation I have made was about why I found political conversations to be unproductive. I stepped away from political conversations on social media for a while and just sat back and observed other conversations people were having. A major theme I noticed about political posts was that they were insensitive, accusatory, and divisive. Often political posts are more about highlighting the faults of the other party rather than highlighting the benefits of their own party. The objective is often to show why the other guys are so bad or why people who vote for them are so bad. This just comes off as accusatory and really just causes people to go into defensive mode. Right out the gate you've destroyed any chance at a civil conversation. I am guilty of this. These accusations, whether right or wrong, only serve to stir up arguments. Our approach as believers should not be antagonistic and looking for a fight. The Bible says a lot about the effectiveness of kindness. "Gracious words are like a honeycomb, sweetness to the soul and health to the body" (Proverbs 16:24). " A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger"(Proverbs 15:1). " Therefore encourage one another and build one another up, just as you are doing" (1 Thessalonians 5:11). These are just a few examples of verses that address this. The question we should ask ourselves is, "What is my motive?" Is it one of pride, trying to win the argument and prove the other person wrong? Or is it one of love, trying to help someone to see a point of view you think may be beneficial? The Bible says that "love is kind" (1 Corinthians 13:4). If we aren't approaching these conversations with kindness and gentleness we aren't showing love. Again, I am guilty of not doing this in love. I totally thought I was doing the right thing but my pride was hindering my ability to do it the right way with the right heart and the right attitude.

A second observation that I have made is that there seems to be a tendency for people to care more about their political affiliation than they do the truth. This is across the board. Both political parties do it and it bothers me. But again, I must confess, I have been guilty of this myself. So what do I mean by "a tendency for people to care more about their political affiliation than they do the truth." Let's look at a hypothetical situation. Party A is accused of doing something bad. Proponents of Party A automatically assume Party A is innocent. Opponents automatically assume Party B is guilty. Neither care about the truth. Proponents are worried about their guy looking bad and opponents are seizing the opportunity to bury the opposition even if the claim is untrue. Both of these approaches show that truth does not matter when it comes to political choices. An innocent person can be destroyed as long as it benefits the other party or a guilty person can get away with things just so to protect the reputation of another party. That is ridiculous and any follower of Christ should find both of these scenarios absurd! The Bible says, "The one who conceals hatred has lying lips, and whoever utters slander is a fool"(Proverbs 10:18) Speaking slander is foolish. It also says, "You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor" (Exodus 20:16). Speaking untruthful things with malicious intent is ungodly and sinful behavior and followers of Christ should not engage in it. Again, motives should be checked. Am I saying and believing what I believe about this person because I have evidence and facts that show that this is true? Or did I just rush to judgement because this was a moment that benefited me politically?

A third observation is a tendency for people's political beliefs to hold more weight than Biblical beliefs. This includes followers of Christ. I do not expect someone who does not know the Lord to adhere to the Bible and its teaching but what disappoints me is when followers of Christ are more loyal to what political party they are affiliated with than what is taught in the Bible. Again, this happens on both sides. For example, sexual immorality. This is wrong. Period. I've seen people in both parties defend and make excuses for people in their own party of choice for engaging in this behavior simply because they were "on their team." We should be appalled by this behavior no matter who it is coming from. Every politician that has engaged in this, was wrong and it does not make it ok because they were a Republican or a Democrat. We need to hold ALL politicians to the same standards no matter what side of the fence they are on. Also, are we considering what the Bible says about issues such as abortion, helping the poor, being financially wise, etc.? Or do we just default to what our party supports? Pray about these things. Don't let your political affiliation be your influence but seek the will of God in all you do. "I appeal to you therefore, brothers, by the mercies of God, to present your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and acceptable to God, which is your spiritual worship. Do not be conformed to this world, but be transformed by the renewal of your mind, that by testing you may discern what is the will of God, what is good and acceptable and perfect" (Romans 12:1-2).

My last observation is that I often took the stance that "the other party" was the enemy. That is simply not the truth. The Bible says, " For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against the rulers, against the authorities, against the cosmic powers over this present darkness, against the spiritual forces of evil in the heavenly places" (Ephesians 6:12). People are not the enemy. Our battle is a spiritual one. We are commanded to love our enemies and pray for those who persecute us (Matthew 5:44). Our approach should never be malicious. Just as Christ showed us compassion and grace, we are to do the same.

This concludes my first blog. I hope and pray that you found it to be helpful and inspirational. If you have any thoughts to add or questions to ask, please share them with me. I don't have all the answers but I would love to help any way I can to at least point you in the right direction. Thanks for reading! Until next time......

-Kevin


46 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Envy

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page